Never thought I’d say this before…

by kristinwood

But I’m starting to enjoy this whole working out thing! It sounds crazy coming from a nearly 250 lb woman but I really enjoyed my running/walking this week. So for those of you that havent heard of the Couch to 5K program it was designed for people like me that are basically starting fresh…they havent exercised in a while or not at all. The first day you start out with a 5 minute warm up walk then you do 8 intervals of 60 seconds of running with 90 seconds of walking in between then a 5 minute cool down walk. You do this the first day, take a day off, then on the third day, take a day off then on the fifth day and take 2 days off. Then a different workout starts on week 2. I’m proud to announce that I made it through the first week and didnt cheat or cut corners!!! Here’s a quick recap of each workout…

Day 1 – I didnt read how many intervals or anything so I had no idea when it was ever going to end. LOL! I got to the halfway point and was really out of breath and my feet, legs, and hips hurt but I pushed through after giving myself several pep talks.

Day 3 – I had shin splints so bad it was a good thing I rested on Day 2! I seriously could hardly walk after the first day. My shins were killing me and my hips hurt so bad! I couldnt remember hurting that bad since high school after track practice. On a good note, it didnt seem to be so hard to breathe. My lungs werent completely on fire and I felt like I was really in control. It was a crazy feeling!

Day 5 – Today was my best day of all! My shin splints were completely gone and the hip pain too! My feet hurt a little while running but I started running on a gravel road so that’s to be expected. I made it all the way to the last interval before I had to give myself a pep talk to keep going. LOL! I’m sure if anyone was around I’d look like a loon. I seriously pretend I’m Jillian Michaels or some other personal trainer and talk out loud to myself. Whatever it takes I guess.

This has been such an emotional battle for me at first. You would think I was climbing a mountain instead of just doing some running and walking. I may not see a lot of results on my body yet but I can feel them. Tonight at VBS I had to run to my car and change my shoes before we went to clean gutters (we were doing community service projects) and I ran from my car clear across the church to get on the bus. Before working out this week, I would have NEVER done that or would I have been able to, without huffing and puffing. I jumped on the bus tonight, found my seat and I was fine! I wasnt even a teensy bit winded! I’m sure it sounds silly but it was my small victory!

I weighed on Tuesday and had only lost 1.3 lbs…let me put this mildly, I was not a happy camper. I was very discouraged and mad that I hadnt lost more. I felt like I had worked really hard and I had hoped to lose closer to 3 or 4 lbs. Tim said that I shouldnt get down on myself because I probably gained muscle. So I shrugged it off and vowed to keep going. I didnt gain it all in one week. I’m not going to just lose it in a week either. Last spring when I tried to lose weight I told myself as long as the scales kept going down and down that I was doing what I was supposed to. So I guess I’ll just have to keep telling myself that.

Before this week, I was a whiner. I was an excuse maker. I was down on myself. I was negative about my lack of physical activity to the point that I would joke about it. I was a failure…and on and on.

After this week, I am changed. I am a different person. I am proud of myself and I want everyone around me to be proud too! I am stronger and I am more disciplined. I am most DEFINITELY not a failure or a whiner or an excuse maker. I am determined to make this work and to get healthier. I am a runner…whether I can run 60 seconds at a time or 60 minutes…that doesnt matter. I am a 249 lb runner and I am beaming to be able to tell you that!

