I think I was here last week

by kristinwood

Catchy title, huh? LOL! No seriously, I’m pretty sure last Friday night, I was sitting alone in the living room tapping away on this little blog while I sipped a glass of ice water. I think I was releasing some anxieties about the next week’s workouts. I’m here again and I read tomorrow’s workout (big mistake…one day I’ll learn not to do that) and it got me all nervous. I have to start out by walking 5 minutes, running 3, walking 90 seconds, running 5 minutes, walking 2 and half minutes, and doing it all over again. I’ll be honest with you, I only made it the first workout last week without giving up and walking during the running parts…days 2 and 3, I walked a little. I was weak, it was hot, there were people parked at the end of my road that made me nervous…excuses excuses. Tomorrow I’m going to kill that run and I’m going to vow to not give in to the weaknesses. When my legs feel like jello and my feet hurt from my new shoes that arent quite broken in yet, I’m going to yell at myself and kick it into gear. I may be slow but I’m still trying! My voice in my head and heart will be my battle cry! I have conquered so many things in these past 3 weeks and I will conquer this too!

On a little different note, I’m proud to announce that I’ve lost 23 lbs overall! I now weigh 242 lbs and I’m still going downhill. Not once have I gained at weigh in…not even an ounce! I weigh on the Wii and I’m soooo looking forward to being in the “overweight” category soon instead of the “obese” category. I still have a ways to go and several more pounds but I’m getting there.

I have been on a little soapbox lately and I’m not sure how to express my thoughts so bear with me. I feel like there are so many fad diets out there and so many things being thrown at overweight people that frankly overwhelms me. Seems like Shakeology, Slimfast, Nutrasystem, Jenny Craig, Sparkpeople, Pinterest Fitness boards are all over the place. Everyone telling you something different. I dont think there’s a magic quick fix solution. I was talking to my allergist a while ago when I first started losing weight and I told him the ony way to lose weight is to burn more calories than you consume. Obviously you have to consume a substantial amount just to function and live everyday but the way to lose weight is to factor all of those things in. It’s no great mystery and it’s something money can’t buy. All these fad diets or gimicks are just tools to help you get over certain hurdles. He agreed with me and I think that means alot coming from a doctor.

My diet isn’t anything crazy and I don’t tell myself there are things I cant have. If I want a cookie dough blizzard from the Dairy Lane I have a bite of my kids because those 35 calories in that bite are a whole lot easier to burn off than the 350 calories in the whole thing! If I want a slice of 550 calorie Casey’s pizza, I will eat fruit and salad for lunch to save up for the pizza. When my kids beg me for a sugary slushie, I get them one and I now buy a bottle of water for myself instead of getting a large slushie for me too. I may sip theirs but I dont need super size all you can eat smorgasboard of calories to just sit in my body taking up space and turning into fat.

You’ve heard the phrase “Eat clean, train mean”? I try my best to live by that. I can tell you, it’s sooo not easy to work that exercise in but it’s the key. At night, I tuck my sweet babies in and go down the hall to my “room” and do a mile on the elliptical every night. I seldom skip because I feel so incredibly guilty if I do. I’ve incorporated that into my routine and I like it that way. It’s a good habit that I dont want to break. I run/walk/train 3 days a week…Saturdays, Mondays and Wednesdays. It’s tricky because tomorrow I have a photo session at 9 and that’s when I would normally run. Now I have to set an alarm and get up earlier. Next weekend is my brother’s wedding and I have yet to figure out how to get my workout in before pictures at 7 am and still have fabulous hair and makeup and get my little flower girl and ring bearer ready. It’s hard being fit and active and healthy but it’s worth it. I’m worth it and I’m proud to be doing it. I’m setting a great example for my kids and I pray they dont get lazy like I did. I kick myself daily for allowing myself to get this way and not realizing the importance of exercise.

I started college 11 years ago at AIB College of Business in Des Moines. At the time, my room was on the same level as the fitness center…did I use it? Nope…not once. How awful is that!?! I baked weekly and shared with my floormates and I ate out daily. I ate what I wanted and my body slowly suffered. I have no idea what I weighed then but my driver’s license said 150. If only I had exersized regularly, I might not be where I am now. If only I had actually cared what went into my body, I might not be where I am now. So many “if onlys”.

I know I’m one of the unlucky people on this planet that get heavy easily and I’m kinda a picky eater. But exercise would have played a huge role in the amount of weight I’ve gained over 11 years. I’ll get off my soapbox now and stop rambling. Tomorrow, I will get up at 7:15, work my ass off and be back home, showered and ready for my session at 9 and I will be the Queen of my day. 🙂 Night ya’ll.

