New perspective

by kristinwood

image

So these are lyrics to a OneRebublic song that I’ve probably sang a hundred times but never thought about them before. I have this obsession with running and exercising now and it was hard when I started…I mean really hard! I felt like I was dying and yet I was living! It was painful and exhilarating all at the same time. I was sweaty and messy and yet I felt more beautiful than I’d felt in forever.

I’ve been looking at this ankle thing all the wrong way. This obstacle was put in my path to test me. My cousin told me that this is the devil stepping in and trying to rain on my parade. I am going to ease back into running and doing my elliptical. And by getting back at it, I’m going to squash him like a bug! I’m going to come back stronger than ever. And by simply doing it again, I’m going to prove to myself that I’ve got this…it may take longer than I wanted and I may not be quite ready for the 5k in January but there’s always another one out there. There’s always a new day for the sun to shine on my freckled face. God will always be there on my side, rooting me on.

While it felt like this ankle killed me emotionally and spiritually, it really gave me a renewed drive. It only took me a week to call off the pity party. Lol!

Thank you so much Kim! You are a beautiful person and I love you and your uplifting words! That first run will be for you!

