Thank the Lord tomorrow is a new day…

by kristinwood

Thank the Lord tomorrow is a new day because I’m soooooo over this one. I always have high hopes of Saturday being a glorious day for me and the kids…WRONG! Something always happens that puts me in a foul mood or plans don’t work or I realize we don’t have the money to make a last minute frivolous trip to Goodwill and McDonalds (seriously, how terrible is that!).

Today my dog is really sick. It started 2 days ago when she started coughing up blood and I rushed get to the vet. His thoughts were that she had something caught in her throat and it had cut it and made it bleed. He gave her some shots and sent us home. Yesterday, she was a little better and the coughing was getting less and less. Today she is so not herself. She’s panting and has been wandering the house with her head and tail down. She won’t sit still unless I put her in her crate but even then, she’s not comfortable and moves around alot. I, like any 20 something person does nowadays, went to the internet in search of answers and the first thing that pops up is heartworms. I read all there was out there and it’s a horrible parasite that usually ends in a slow and painful death for the dog, even with treatment, they can still die. I’m just beside myself thinking that my beautiful young red Australian shepherd could die our that I would have to make a decision about her life. I’ve watched her all day and cried in get coat as she leaned against me for support. I have prayed every chance I get for her to get better. It’s such a terrible feeling to not be able to do anything for her right now. Monday I’m going to take her to the vet and hopefully we’ll get good news and hopefully she’ll get a little better tonight. I don’t know if I can watch this another day…

I’m feeling so sad and so down and Tim is at work and I don’t feel like he’s able to give me any support right now. I fought the urge to bake all day today. That’s usually what I do on sad Saturdays. I made alot of bad choices today with my diet and exercise but I didn’t bake so that’s one battle won. I can only be mad at myself Tuesday if the scales aren’t in my favor.

I could probably sit here and list every single thing that went wrong in my day but it wouldn’t get me anywhere.

If you’re reading this, please say a prayer that Ruby gets to feeling better and I get good news at the vet Monday. I want to see the sparkle back in Ruby’s eyes…

image

