Confession time

by kristinwood

I feel like I need to get this out there. Yesterday I ate a cupcake…I know I know, it’s not the end of the world but they’re my ultimate weakness and I baked some and ate it. Yesterday wasn’t a very good eating day all around really. I’ll admit, I’m not feeling the greatest lately. I’m trying really hard to listen to my body but I feel like I’m starting to be borderline anorexic…as crazy as that sounds. We’re on a tight budget and I haven’t been to a store to spend frivolously on groceries lately so I’ve been having “make due” meals for my family and I know the foods I’ve been making haven’t been especially healthy meals so I’ve been opting out of them or not eating much. Here’s my food diary entry from yesterday as an example:

10:30 am
2 over easy eggs
1 piece of buttered toast
1 frozen hashbrown (fried)
Glass of water
Spark drink

6:00 pm
1 hot dog
1 tablespoon shells and cheese
2 big spoonfuls of corn
1 corn muffin
Glass of water
Cupcake

Then I worked out on the elliptical around 8:30 and felt super shaky…my hands were shaking, my knees were wobbly, and I didn’t think straight enough to read the descriptions of the shows on Netflix. It was a scary feeling and I’m still not sure what caused it. So then I ate a piece of super thin crust cold pineapple and ham pizza that was leftover from yesterday, a cold hot dog, and fixed a big bowl of cake and a huge heap of ice cream. Then my conscience kicked in and I started feeling better about 3 bites into the cake and ice cream and face the rest to Tim.

Here’s my theory on my strange body feelings that I’ve observed the past few days…I’m not getting enough of something. I think my blood sugar has extreme highs and lows and my blood pressure has been crazy low lately and I have a feeling I’m deficient in some vitamins…possibly B12. So to remedy those problems I’m going to start taking a multivitamin and actually go to the dang grocery store and get “good stuff” and stop meddling around the kitchen with thrown together meals that don’t make me feel good. If I’m not feeling good after I eat, I’m sure my kids aren’t either. The old saying “If mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy” is soooooo true!

I’m gonna do this, I’m not going to let one cupcake ruin my life! Think, plan, act, reap the rewards! That’s all there is to it!

