Better late than never…

by kristinwood

So Tuesday was weigh day and I think I forgot to post about it. I had done random thoughts floating around my head so I may as well share.

Monday night I had been overtaken by this deep dark feeling of dread. I knew I hadn’t been what you’d say. “On point” with my eating and hadn’t exercised every single day last week that I had the opportunity to. I also was battling some anxiety issues and Aunt Flo was not being very pleasant to deal with either. I hadn’t particularly over are or been horrible. Just not the best I’d ever been either.

Tuesday morning comes along and I trudged up the stairs to weigh and low and behold I had lost 2 more lbs! I was shocked and ecstatic! That means I’m only 13 lbs away from my big goal and I think I’m gonna make it. If you had asked me before weigh in, I probably would’ve said no, that I wasn’t going to reach that goal by February.

So here’s my 2 cents. I don’t want to be on a diet. I don’t want to exercise every single day of my whole life. I don’t want to never ever eat another cupcake. I don’t want to feel like I have to order from the weight watchers part of the menu when I eat out. I don’t want to avoid pop or tea or lemonade forever! I just want to do the best I can and consciously make good choices more than not. I want to exercise 3-5 times a week and run a mile without stopping to walk eventually. I don’t want robe a personal trainer with ripped abs and biceps bigger than my dads. I just want to be healthy and happy and fun. Lol! I want to live my life with my kids and enjoy the little moments I have with them. I want to dream with them and teach them fun things I learned as a kid like popping the tops off dandelions and making friendship bracelets. I want to be a life liver. I don’t want anything to hold me back and I don’t want to obsess about my body and weight and healthy eating. I just want it to be second nature. On I truly feel I’m on the right path. I’m getting there. The past week has proven to me that I can live my life. I can ride the highs and lows that come with it and still succeed. I can still lose weight and eventually maintain my weight AND live my life.

My life is not at a standstill and just because I’m trying to get healthy doesn’t mean that’s all I can focus on. It is so relieving to know that in a year I’ll be down to a healthy weight and feeling better than ever. It’s so awesome to think that by next summer I can take my kids to the park and enjoy running around and swinging. I can take them to the pool or beach and won’t have to wear shorts and tee shirt over my swimsuit to hide my body. I can erase those negative thoughts from my head and fill it with fun ideas and conversations with my kids. 2014 better look out because I’m going to enjoy every single minute just being who God created me to be and it’s going to be awesome!

