I can rewrite my bio

by kristinwood

Does anyone remember the “old days” when we were just dabbling in social media? My first media outlet was myspace. It was fun to get to put together your own little personal space on the internet that was all about you. I’m sure you’re nodding your head right now. After you selected the perfect picture and waited about 30 minutes for it to upload because you had crappy dialup internet and your tightwad parents wouldn’t upgrade. So after that was done, you started eagerly searching for your friends and then reality set in…you were going to have to pick your “top 8”. So you think to yourself…well I have to put so and so as my number one because obviously they’re the one who told me about myspace and then I better add her sister as my number two. Oh and what about my coworkers…where do they fit. Oh never mind her, should wouldn’t switch hours with me Saturday at Hy-Vee so I could go to the fair so she’s definitely not in my top eight. Nut uh!

I’m sure that’s exaggerating a little but you get the idea…so anyways you write a rather lengthy paragraph chocked full of run on sentences and your favorite color blah blah blah. Click ENTER and you’re done! Your myspace account is out the for the whole world to see and now any stalker/creepo/ex boyfriend from out of town knows about your love affair with Dr. Pepper and cupcakes. You log off so your dad can make a phone call and you head off about your day thinking you’re some kind of rockstar.

Today I searched for my old myspace account that got abandoned somewhere about the time I got married so I really don’t remember what my email address was for it, let alone my sign in name. I had kinda hoped I could find it and read my pitiful excuse of a bio and laugh at the younger me but no such luck. What I do remember probably said I was an honest, caring person who loved my fur babies and I was about to marry the love of my life or something silly.

I am going to be 30 in just a few short months and I’ve decided that I am way more secure in knowing who I am in this world than I was 11 years ago. I’m sure my new bio would say

Hi I’m Kristin. I have been married almost 10 years to a man that was my best friend before we were anything else. This man sought me out for months and was patient waiting for me to realize how much I needed him in my life. We have two beautiful children that have perfectly completed out little white picket fence family. We aren’t planning on having any more so don’t ask about it. It makes me grouchy. My main tasks every day include providing for them, taking care of the house and cooking meals mostly from scratch. I love to bake but do it on occasion because I don’t want to overeat sweets and gain weight back. I adore any animal with fur and I especially love kittens. We live in our dream house and I love garage saling for treasures to decorate it with. I have been changing my life in the past 9 months and have recently lost almost 60 lbs with diet and exercise. Yes! It can be done! I am proud of my new body and outlook on life. I drink gallons of water everyday and I try to exercise 5 days a week. I’m a green tictac enthusiast and it’s my favorite guilty pleasure. I love to help and inspire people and one of my favorite activities is perusing on my iPhone for things and people that inspire me. I feel with my whole heart and music fuels my soul daily. I love to take pictures but only when something truly inspired me. I’m not going to waste my shutter snap on unnecessary things. I have recently discovered the joys of yarn and crocheting. It’s my new favorite hobby. Granny squares are my all time favorite and I can’t wait to make more of those colorful little blocks. I’m honest to a fault sometimes and awkward in some social situations. I’m working on my faith every single day and I pray like I’m talking to an old friend. I try my best to appreciate life every single day and I love with my whole heart.

That’s enough about me. Hope you enjoyed my new and improved bio, full of run on sentences.

