I can accept a compliment

by kristinwood

I really didn’t want to blog much tonight because I’m exhausted tonight and really wanted to go to sleep but my mind just kept twirling with guilt so I decided today’s “I can”. I can accept a compliment. I used to hear a compliment now and then and I would kinda just curl my shoulders in, squeak out a polite thank you and then try to convince that person why I probably didn’t deserve that compliment. You know…it would probably sound like this:

Nice person: I like your shoes.
Me: Oh these old things? I’ve had them a while. I probably just bought them at Walmart.

I should’ve just said thank you and moved on with the conversation. I’ve been around a lot of different people lately that I hadn’t seen in a while and I’ve heard people say I look good or call me skinny (I’m sorry but that one still makes me laugh. lol!). I’ve been politely saying thank you and then I proceed to tell them I’ve been working really hard on it. It might seem short or whatever but I don’t know what else to say. I think that’s sufficient for now and I want them to know I’m proud of how far I come and I really appreciate their kind words.

I’m still working on it but I can accept a compliment. 🙂

