I can go gluten free

by kristinwood

So just Sunday I learned that my aunt has celiac disease. It’s random and crazy at the same time because a few months ago when I was looking into all the reasons my hair could be falling out, I stumbled upon celiac disease. I immediately shrugged it off and went on to the next “simpler ” disease that I thought it could be. lol! Celiac disease seemed so complicated and the idea of cutting out gluten seemed so hard and confusing. After talking to my aunt Sunday she said I should really look into it because it’s hereditary. I was like “what?!?” Then today I dove head first into the research about it and may indeed have it.

Don’t take my word for any of the information I’m about to ramble on about because I’m not a doctor but this is what I’ve gathered from my research. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder that occurs in the small intestine. Basically when gluten is consumed it triggers a reaction inside the small intestine that makes it hard for your body to absorb critical nutrients and vitamins. This causing symptoms like fatigue, depression, infertility, missed periods, hair loss, skin rashes, abdominal cramping, gas, bloating, diarrhea, constipation, etc. I have been experiencing all of those symptoms for the past 10 years. I have tried to think of every other medical reason why I wasn’t having periods and losing hair. I beat myself up and hated my body for failing me daily when in reality, I may have been failing my own body by putting poison in in unknowingly.

You know me and you know how icy I like a well educated plan. So I have decided to start tomorrow and go for a solid 30 days on a gluten free diet. I’m going to evaluate my body’s feelings once the 30 days is up and see if I feel better or if I don’t notice a change at all. I’m so ready to tackle this and stop living with digestion issues and crying over clumps of hair in the shower. This journey started 9 months ago and I wanted to get well, not just skinny. I wanted to truly know why I seldom menstruated and why I would have fits of diarrhea or constipation for no apparent reason. I wanted to get some hair back. I’m determined to balance my life and feel better and be the best me I can be.

So wish me luck on this gluten free journey. It’s not a dad diet, it’s a trial. Hopefully I’ll find some answers and come to some conclusions. And most importantly, get some hair back. Lol!

