I can finish a tough workout

by kristinwood

20140515-222236.jpg

That’s me after one of my hardest workouts to date! I’m sweaty, my stomach is not happy, I made sweat puddles on my yoga mat and I seriously fought off the pukes but….I finished and I’m so proud of myself!

I’m sure if you’ve been reading my blog, you’ll know that I’ve been struggling with some stomach troubles and decided to go gluten free in hopes of ruling that out. Well I tried it for a day and my stomach was still hurting so I just called my allergist and decided to get tested in June at my annual allergy testing appointment. The only thing is, I have to have gluten in my system for the test to be accurate. So I’m back to eating like normal. Tonight, I way overdid it and ate pizza, salad, and cranberry juice and my stomach was definitely protesting. I was miserable but I just got my new ball, band and Can You 24 DVD so I wanted to try it out.

I seriously thought I was in fairly good shape until I huffed my way through the warmup. It was hard! I could feel my muscles in my arms popping and my forehead and hair was dripping with sweat. I fell off the ball a few times and accidentally knocked off a little popcorn from the ceilings when I was doing some figure 8’s. Lol!

One phrase that kept sticking out to me during the workout is “You are strong!” I’ve decided that’s going to be my motto. I am strong. I may not be a lot of things but this journey has taught me that I am stronger than I ever thought possible in myself.

When I was having my babies, I felt like I could do anything, go through anything during their deliveries because it was all for them and I would do anything for them and their safety. Now I’m trying to have that same mindset for myself. I will get through this for myself to have the best life. I feel like tonight’s workout was harder than the one I did 10 months ago when I took those first steps out the door and decided to try running. I have come so far. This battle is 80% mental and 20% physical. The balance is always changing though as I push my body to do more things.

I’m not going to head to bed wishing for toned biceps tonight. I’m not going to lay there and dream about the way my body is going to look in that retro swimsuit I’ve been eyeing. I’m going to bed thanking God for allowing me another day to wins battle. I’m going to thank Him for giving me this drive to keep going and to never give up. I’m going to praise Him in the moonlight for my abilities, talents, and otherwise. He has a plan for me. I may not know it yet, but I’m going to live each day putting one foot in front of the other and doing my best. 🙂 What are you praising God for tonight?

