I can be honest here

by kristinwood

I can be honest here right? Right. Well this past week has been bad. I’ve been sick and have laid around in a humid haze all week. So considered writing about all my pathetic whinery but I decided not to. I’m gonna write about something controversial…obesity and beauty.

I have preached and preached about body acceptance and beauty comes in all sizes blah blah blah. But does beauty really come in all sizes? How many times have you looked at someone and thought “She could be really pretty if she wasn’t heavy”? I know I certainly have and usually that person was myself staring back at me in the mirror.

So when does the truth stick out? I see so many pages on Facebook or blog stories showing “real women” embracing their curves but they’re not that big! I know women of all sizes (including size 0’s) that struggle with body image and loving their bodies. But this is all such a sham! I’m sure if there were public pictures of 300+ lb nude women posted all over the place people would be appalled! So why the double standard? Because we are forced to think that bigger is not beautiful. Every single media outlet from magazine to internet tells us that the only standard of beauty is flawless skin and no fat.

So much hypocritical crap is thrown at us that it makes me mad! I’m just as guilty as the next person when I google “big beautiful women” and immediately curled up my nose. I started comparing myself to every one of those images. I think to myself how much prettier my ankles, wrists, collarbones…whatever is than theirs. So I guess I’m going to be honest here. I know there are people out there that think the morbidly obese are beautiful. Unfortunately I’m not one of them. However I was taught but my upbringing to never judge a book by it’s cover. I feel incredibly guilty saying that truth. I don’t mean to hurt people’s feelings but being on both sides of the spectrum, I prefer to be healthy and fit.

I guess my point here is that true undeniable beauty that matters is really truly and forever will be on inside. But part of being beautiful is caring for yourself and your body and decorating your temple with muscles, artwork, tattoos, nail polish, whatever that makes you feel beautiful. Just don’t let yourself go because you don’t care anymore.

If you were to do an appraisal on your body right now…how much would it be worth? A true appraisal of a house looks at curb appeal, structure, function, and how well it has been maintained. Just some food for thought tonight….

