I lived

by kristinwood

Today’s blog post is brought to you by this song:

Here’s the lyrics:

“I Lived”

Hope when you take that jump
You don’t fear the fall
Hope when the water rises
You build a wall

Hope when the crowd screams out
They’re screaming your name
Hope if everybody runs
You choose to stay

Hope that you fall in love
And it hurts so bad
The only way you can know
Is give it all you have

And I hope that you don’t suffer
But take the pain
Hope when the moment comes
You’ll say…

[Chorus]
I, I did it all
I, I did it all
I owned every second
That this world could give
I saw so many places
The things that I did
Yeah, with every broken bone
I swear I lived

Hope that you spend your days
But they all add up
And when that sun goes down
Hope you raise your cup

I wish that I could witness
All your joy and all your pain
But until my moment comes
I’ll say…

[Chorus]
I, I did it all
I, I did it all
I owned every second
That this world could give
I saw so many places
The things that I did
Yeah, with every broken bone
I swear I lived

[Bridge]
Whoa
Whoa
Whoa
Oh
Oh
Yeah, with every broken bone
I swear I lived
Yeah, with every broken bone
I swear I lived

Let me set up the story for you. Otherwise this will be a “guess you had to be there” moment.

I almost talked myself out of running today. I played every excuse through my mind: I had a headache. I was dehydrated. I was hungry I was going to exercise class tonight. That should be enough. It was humid and going to rain. You know all those excuses.

Well I had almost procrastinated too long because as I got in my car to go to my running spot, huge raindrops pelted my windshield but there was only a few. So I decided to run anyway. I had already laced up my shoes, driven that far and I was just going to do it.

I set up my pandora only phone and that song came on. It was so perfect. As I grabbed my ankle, braced myself on my car for a quad stretch I caught a glimpse of myself in the reflection of the drivers window. I looked like a warrior! No joke. I saw my rugged cheekbones, tanned skin, strong shoulders and beautiful freckles from the sun and in that moment, nothing could stop me. I am a warrior! I was made for this. God had brought me through so many hard things. Running a mile in the rain today would be nothing compared to what I’ve already accomplished.

I ran it. I blared my music and I ran faster than I’ve ever ran. This was today’s time:

IMG_1640.PNG

I could hardly believe it. I even had a lady stop and ask if I needed a ride about halfway through. I politely declined and then second guessed myself after she was out of sight and lightening struck just miles away. The whole time I prayed and had faith that my God would not forsake me. His power would keep me safe. And it did.

I am a warrior…a beautiful warrior clothed with faith in God.

