Random late night thoughts

by kristinwood

Last weekend my brother, Kylle, was home. I hadn’t seen him since last Christmas! It was a fun reunion with lots of laughs and laid back visiting. It was a good weekend and I already miss him. While he was home, my mom wanted some sibling pictures of us. I didn’t realize how much we had all changed!

IMG_1796.JPG

The picture on the left was at Klayton’s high school graduation 2 years ago. I remember that day feeling so proud of him but so embarrassed because I didn’t have any dress pants that would button. I felt awful that I couldn’t dress up like everyone else. Of course, no one knew that and it wasn’t really a big deal to anyone but I like to dress up for nice occasions and I felt that was a nice occasion.

Another little back story about that outfit I’m wearing in the left photo…that shirt was a size 3 from Maurices plus size section. The jeans were Silver brand and a plus size 24. I remember ripping the rear end out of them when I was trying to climb in the back of Tim’s pickup later that year. He and I just laughed it off but that was the first and only time I had ever done that. I was dying inside that day.

Now on to the photo on the right…looking at this photo and reflecting on it, I just keep thinking about how small I am! Not just short, which obviously I am. (I’m 5’5” and my brothers are well over 6 foot!) I actually have a small figure and frame. I was just telling my mom last night on the phone that I have never realized how small I am compared to other people. Once I get down to my goal weight of 160 lbs, I have a feeling I’ll get made fun of for being small. That’s a laughable thought! Ha! Something to look forward to!

Here’s another clothes/goal related photo:

IMG_1786.JPG

I posted this photo on facebook with this caption: A little over a year ago I set some goals. 1. To shop in the “regular” sizes at Maurices. 2. To wear skinny jeans. 3. To fit in and buy a pair of tall boots. This picture proves I smashed all of those goals! Watch and see what goals I achieve this year! The glass ceiling has been shattered!

I have never been one to like to go clothes shopping. Mostly because it was depressing and I wanted to eat away my feelings afterwards which never really helped anyway. But I had bought this outfit the other day and it was such a happy moment! The gal at Maurices asked if I wanted a fitting room to try on the green shirt. I didn’t really want to but it looked a little more form fitting than I was used to so I tried it. It was a size XL and it fit a little baggy! I was floored! I went ahead and got it because I knew it would probably shrink a little. Another observation I had at Maurices that day was that I must be at a really average size right now because I couldn’t hardly find a single cami in an XL. It was nuts! Every color was picked over.

Last random thought for the night and I swear I’m done rambling about meaningless observations. Lol! I wish I would’ve taken s before photo of my closet. My clothes used to only take up 1/4th of the closet because I didn’t have many that fit or looked nice one. I also didn’t have much color or patterns. It was all gray, black And white with an occasional red cardigan. Now look at it!

IMG_1794.JPG

Over half the closet is my clothes and they’re all sorts of colors and patterns! There’s even some zebra! I have NEVER worn a zebra pattern!

I guess the point of this rambling is that I’m super lonely. It’s a Friday night and I can’t sleep. I just put a boat ton of laundry away and got to thinking about these things. I didn’t figure anyone would care so I blogged about it. In a few years I’ll be glad I did. That way when I’m a size 10 and a medium shirt, I can reflect on my past feelings. Goodnight all!

