Diet To Go experience 

by kristinwood

So a few weeks ago I was contacted by a super sweet lady from Diet To Go. She asked if I would like to try some of their meals. I researched the company and noticed that they had low carb options. The reviews looked great so I decided to give it a try. 

I had never tried a meal subscription plan before and I wasn’t sure what to expect. I thought maybe it would be a few nasty freezer meals in aluminum foil that I had to heat in the oven from the 80s. Boy was I wrong! First off, let me start by saying that these meals FAR exceeded my expectations! 

They came shipped in a cooler type package with ice packs and were cold when I got them. 


Some of the meals included were:

Tuscan Chicken, creamed spinach with red pepper and green beans

Mediterranean egg casserole, chicken sausage and vegetables

Baked Cajun salmon, cream sauce, asparagus and broccoli

Chicken Roma with pine nuts, Swiss chard and seasoned cauliflower 

Teriyaki flat iron steak, wasabi cauliflower mash, broccoli and fajita veggies and 

Tuna salad, carrots and provolone cheese chunk 

Spinach and pepper quiche, green beans and sausage link

Chicken fajita with fresh pico de gallo,received beans, sour cream and carrots

Of all of those delicious meals, my favorite was the spinach and pepper quiche. I jotted down a few thoughts after I had that one. I noted that it was something I probably would have never tried. I’m a very picky eater so I was really stepping out of my comfort zone. Lol! But it was delicious! The quiche had great flavor and I could taste a hint of smokiness. It only took a few minutes to heat it in the microwave and the green beans were perfect! It was as if I had picked them fresh from the garden, washed them and steamed them right then and there. They were so FRESH! The sausage link is one of the best I’ve tasted! And I’ve been a hog farmer my whole life so I know good meat! 

My second favorite meals were a tie between the tuna salad and the chicken fajita. I absolutely love Mexican food and this fajita was amazing! I could taste all of the rich flavors, from the cilantro to the chicken. The tortilla shell was whole grain and delicious! It was way better than those I’ve tried from the local grocery store. The pico was fresh and tasted like it was authentic Mexican cuisine! (I snuck a few carrots before I snapped the pic)

The tuna salad was a huge portion! It had great flavor just like what my momma makes with a hint of red pepper. It was a nice twist on a traditional favorite of mine. My kids had a bit of it and loved it too!


So my photography skills are lacking, I know. Haha! But I just want to say that these meals are perfect for someone with a busy schedule. The trays are the perfect size for my lunchbox that I take to work and they heat well and dont warp. 

Final thoughts:

Would I recommend this to my family or friends? Absolutely! They are phenomenal! 

Were the portion sizes reasonable? Yes! I’m a person that generally saves half of whatever I order from restaurants. So I don’t usually have large portions at a time but these were more than I usually eat. I actually shared some of them with my husband (and he LOVED them too!) 

How did you feel about the low carb option? I loved the low carb options! I generally try to eat low carb and I’m always looking for new ideas. A lot of times when I order a low carb option, the seasoning is lacking and not very flavorful. These meals were seasoned very well. And I suspect tell they were prepared by a real chef! It was like having my own personal chef! Haha! 

Overall I was very pleased with my trial and thought everything was fresh and delicious! Give them a try!

https://m.diettogo.com/

